Vice President inaugurates Disability Council

Accra, April 7, GNA

The government has inaugurated the National Council of Persons with Disability (PWD) at the Castle, Osu.
persons with disabilities had for years lobbied for the establishment of the Council and the NDC pledged that it would do so within 100 days after assuming the reins of power.
On Tuesday, April 7, Vice President John Dramani Mahama inaugurated the 13-member Board which is under the chairmanship of Mr. Andrew Okaikoi, a business executive.
The inauguration is seen as crucial in promoting the welfare of PWDs who are believed to constitute more than five percent of Ghana’s population, but have over the years been denied many rights offered their able bodied counterparts.
The Vice President urged the Council to help dismiss  taboos that have over the years stigmatized PWDs.
He said government would be assiduous in working for the inclusion of the disabled in all aspects of the society to ensure that they are not left behind or discriminated against.
“They deserve as citizens to fully participate in the progress of the country without being discriminated against,” Vice President Mahama stressed.
He asked the Council to ensure that all children with disabilities have access to formal education and also that institutions which are yet to provide access for PWDs at their premises be made to comply with the law.
He charged the Council to work with metropolitan, municipal and district assemblies on the modalities for disbursing two per cent of the common fund to PWDs as demanded by law.
Mr Okaikoi, commended the NDC for inaugurating the council, and promised to work towards ensuring that the potentials of PWDs which had been left largely untapped would be realized for the benefit for the country.
He paid tribute to all those who helped in the passage of the Disability Act for their persistence in promoting the welfare of PWDs.
The Council include Dr Cynthia Bannerman, Dr Bashirideen Iddrisu Kori, Ms Emma Bruce-Lyle, Mr. Ivor Greenstreet and Mr. Henry Woode.
The rest are Mr. Stephen Adongo, Mr. Herbert Antor, Mr. Victor Ayete Larbi, Mr. Mawutor Ablo, Mrs. Serwah Quaynor and Miss Augustina Ampomah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *